Cowboys Robbed: Was that a catch or not?

By: Jazmine August

With A little over four minutes left, Tony Romo had possession of the football two yards shy of the 30 yard line on fourth down. With the game practically on the line, Romo executed an amazing throw to Dez Bryant, which he caught within inches of the goal line. I literally had goose bumps. Dez Bryant had done it again. One of the most amazing catches of the post-season; were my sentiments exactly. But before the words could fall from my mouth Mike McCarthy threw down his final challenge, which would turn out to be a valuable one. Within a few minutes of the celebration, the call had been reversed. Incomplete pass on fourth down. Green Bay ball.

Let’s take a look at the rule:

If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

I was appalled Dez Bryant had completed the process, made three steps and attempted a football play that any competitive athlete would: he went for a touchdown. Before he lunged for a touchdown, he had already secured the catch.

From tip-off the game had been electrifying, from the efficiency of RB Demarco Murray to the pure greatness of Aaron Rodgers. The excitement and fun of the game had been stripped by a terrible call. A better that needs to be implemented into the rule book should be officials should NOT determine the outcome of a game. After that devastating reversal of Dez Bryant’s catch, the Cowboys were deflated and the momentum had shifted to the Green Bay Packers unfairly, Packers won the game.

When reversing a very questionable and close calls, the moment in the game should be considered. Will reversal of this call determine the course of the game? If the answer is yes and it is an extremely close call and based on technicality; the call that is originally called on the field should stand. We will never know how great the game could have been. Let me set the picture for you:  Dallas scores a TD with a substantial amount of time for Aaron Rodgers to search deep for one more amazing drive up the field. How amazing would that scenario have been?

Some will say this was a bitter dose of karma from last weeks’ NFC Wild card game vs. the Detroit Lions. A very questionable flag was picked up which would have resulted in Detroit having an automatic first down but instead possession was given to Dallas and they went on to win the game. If Dallas Cowboy fans didn’t believe in Karma before this game, they do now.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s